What was the Treaty of the Hague (1720)?

Introduction The Treaty of The Hague was signed on 17 February 1720 between Spain and the Quadruple Alliance, established by the 1718 Treaty of London. Its members included Britain, France, the Dutch Republic and Austria. By signing, Spain joined the Alliance, ending the War of the Quadruple Alliance (1718 to 1720) and accepting the terms… Read More


What was the Battle of Francavilla (1719)?

Introduction The Battle of Francavilla was fought on 20 June 1719 near the city of Francavilla di Sicilia in Sicily, Italy between Spain and Austria as part of the War of the Quadruple Alliance (1718 to 1720). Background After the destruction of the Spanish fleet in the Battle of Cape Passaro in August 1718, the… Read More