What was the Eighty Years’ War (1568-1648)?

Introduction The Eighty Years’ War (Dutch: Tachtigjarige Oorlog; Spanish: Guerra de los Ochenta Años) or Dutch War of Independence (23 May 1568 to 30 January 1648) was a revolt of the Seventeen Provinces of what are today the Netherlands, Belgium, and Luxembourg against Philip II of Spain, the sovereign of the Habsburg Netherlands. After the… Read More


What was the Battle of Jodoigne (1568)?

Introduction The Battle of Jodoigne was fought on 20 October 1568 between Spanish and Dutch Rebel forces. Part of the Dutch Revolt 1566-1648, also known as the Eighty Years’ War or Dutch War of Independence. Background In 1568, the Dutch Revolt had developed into war. During the summer, Louis and Adolf of the House of… Read More