What was the Ethiopian Revolution (1974) & The Derg?

Introduction The Derg (also spelled Dergue; from Amharic: ደርግ, “committee” or “council”; Oromo: Dergii), officially the Provisional Military Government of Ethiopia, was the military junta that ruled Ethiopia from 1974 to 1987, when the military leadership formally civilianised the administration but stayed in power until 1991. The Derg was established in June 1974 as the… Read More