What was the Ethiopian Revolution (1974) & The Derg?

Introduction The Derg (also spelled Dergue; from Amharic: ደርግ, “committee” or “council”; Oromo: Dergii), officially the Provisional Military Government of Ethiopia, was the military junta that ruled Ethiopia from 1974 to 1987, when the military leadership formally civilianised the administration but stayed in power until 1991. The Derg was established in June 1974 as the… Read More


What was the Eritrean War of Independence (1961-1991)?

Introduction The Eritrean War of Independence was a conflict fought between successive Ethiopian governments and Eritrean independence fighters from 01 September 1961 to 24 May 1991. After the defeat of the Italians from Eritrea by the Allies in 1941, Eritrea became a British protectorate until 1951. The General Assembly of the United Nations held a… Read More