Organisation of British Army Infantry Divisions

The infantry of the British Army comprises some 25,000 soldiers in 17 different regiments (administrative units), containing one or more battalions (fighting units). They are often referred to informally as ‘cap-badges’ – as each has its own identity.

In order to break down this large body of troops into more easily manageable elements, it is split into Infantry Divisions.

This construct is distinct from the operational formations of the Army; the lnfantry Divisions are only responsible for non-operational management functions. This is co-ordinated by Headquarters
Infantry (HQ lnf), with each division having a Divisional Lieutenant Colonel (Div Lt Col), who reports to the post of Colonel Infantry (Col lnf) in HQ lnf.

HQ lnf’s role is to support the Head of Arms and Services, the Army Personnel Centre and other staff branches of the Army with advice and policy to ensure infantry units and the Regimental system is manned, trained, equipped, and structured and sustained to fulfill their roles.

Support to the Regimental system is excised via the Div Lt Cols, whose formal role is to sustain the Regiment(s) in their division. This includes oversight of activities such as welfare, public engagement, veterans’ affairs and cadets. The 7 infantry Div Lt Cols are based in HQ lnf and are subordinate to Col lnf. Each is directly supported by a Command Sergeant Major.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.