What was the Treaty of Hopewell (1786)?

Introduction The Treaty of Hopewell was signed by the Choctaw at the foothills of the Smoky Mountains on 03 January 1786. The ceded area amounted to 69,120 acres, and the compensation to the Choctaw took the form of protection by the United States. To elaborate, the plenipoteniaries were Benjamin Hawkins, Andrew Pickens and Joseph Martin… Read More