What was the Third Treaty of San Ildefonso (1800)?

Introduction The Third Treaty of San Ildefonso was a secret agreement signed on 01 October 1800 between the Spanish Empire and the French Republic by which Spain agreed in principle to exchange its North American colony of Louisiana for territories in Tuscany. The terms were later confirmed by the March 1801 Treaty of Aranjuez. Background… Read More