What is a Veteran Aware NHS Trust?


A group of 53 NHS providers have been accredited as exemplars of the best care for veterans, helping to drive improvements in NHS care for people who serve or have served in the UK armed forces and their families.

Veteran Aware trusts are leading the way in improving veterans’ care within the NHS, as part of the Veterans Covenant Healthcare Alliance (VCHA).

What does this Recognition Mean?

The recognition means that patients who have served in the UK armed forces will be cared for by frontline staff who have received training and education on their specific needs and who can also signpost them to other local support services.

What do Veteran Aware Providers Offer?

Veteran Aware providers will:

  • Provide leaflets and posters to veterans and their families explaining what to expect;
  • Train relevant staff to be aware of veterans’ needs and the commitments of the NHS under the Armed Forces Covenant;
  • Inform staff if a veteran or their GP has told the hospital they have served in the armed forces;
  • Ensure that members of the armed forces community do not face disadvantage compared to other citizens when accessing NHS services;
  • Signpost to extra services that might be provided to the armed forces community by a charity or service organisation in the trust; and
  • Look into what services are available in their locality, which patients would benefit from being referred to.

NHS Trusts that have been Accredited as Veteran Aware

As of 04 September 2020, a total of 53 NHS trusts have been accredited as Veteran Aware.

  1. Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals, Sussex Armed Forces Network.
  2. Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
  3. South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust.
  4. Doncaster and Bassetlaw Foundation Trust.
  5. East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust.
  6. Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust.
  7. Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust.
  8. Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust.
  9. Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
  10. Norfolk and Norwich NHS Foundation Trust.
  11. North Bristol NHS Trust.
  12. North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust.
  13. Northumbria NHS Foundation Trust.
  14. North West Anglia NHS Foundation Trust.
  15. Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust.
  16. Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.
  17. Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust.
  18. Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust.
  19. Royal Edinburgh Hospitals, NHS Lothian.
  20. Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Trust.
  21. Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust.
  22. South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
  23. Cardiff and Vale University Health Board.
  24. University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust.
  25. Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust.
  26. Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust.
  27. Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
  28. Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
  29. Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
  30. Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
  31. University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust.
  32. Northampton General Hospital NHS Trust.
  33. Weston Area Health NHS Trust.
  34. Stockport NHS Foundation Trust.
  35. Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust.
  36. Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust.
  37. University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust.
  38. Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation Trust.
  39. Bolton NHS Foundation Trust.
  40. St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust.
  41. Lancashire & South Cumbria NHS Foundation Trust.
  42. United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust.
  43. Airedale NHS Foundation Trust.
  44. Cheshire & Wirral Partnership NHS Foundation Trust.
  45. Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
  46. The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.
  47. The Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
  48. Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust.
  49. The Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust.
  50. Humber Teaching NHS Foundation Trust.
  51. Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust.
  52. Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust.
  53. Somerset NHS Foundation Trust.

How to Become a Veteran Aware NHS Trust

It is the ambition of NHS England to accredit all NHS providers in England as Veteran Aware. They continue to guide and equip the next tranche of volunteer trusts to help demonstrate that they meet the requirements of NHS England’s manifestos. This involves providers sharing good practice in linking with local services for veterans and raising staff awareness of the Armed Forces Covenant.


Resources are from NHS England.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.