There are a wide variety of UK-based obstacle course races (OCR), mud runs, weighted runs, and other obstacle events and races.

A number of these events are highlighted below in chronological order (not an exhaustive list). Further events, races and information can be found @ Muddyrace. You can also find useful information on the ‘world’ of OCR @ Mudstacle.

Events by Month

Events are presented as follows: event name @ place (country), distances and website.

Monthly Events (Recurring)

  • Nuclear Trials (Nuclear Races) @ Kelvedon Hatch, Brentwood (Essex): http://www.nuclear-races.co.uk/index.php/events/nuclear-trials/.
    • Free event consisting of 400m assault course (10/12 obstacles) designed for groups and individuals.
  • The Obstacle Gym @ The Outdoor Training Centre, Lutterworth, LE17 4HP (near Rugby): http://www.theobstaclegym.co.uk/.
    • Wednesday sessions run for 6.30 – 8.30pm and cost £5.
    • Weekend sessions run from 10am – 2pm and cost £10.
  • Judgement Day @ East Sussex: http://www.judgement-day.co.uk/.
    • OCR from 6km, 12km and 18km events that combine man-made and natural obstacles (expect monkey bars, rope climbs, quarter pipes, sandbag carries and more).
    • Trail Running at 10km and half marathon trail race distances.

January

February

March

April

May

June

  • AGR Black Rock ‘5’ Race @ Kinghorn, Fife (Scotland): 10km: http://blackrock5.org.
  • Back 2 the Trenches: No Man’s Land @ Fullers Wood Lane, Nuffield (England): 5km & 10km: http://www.back2thetrenches.co.uk/.
  • Brutal 10: Enduro @ Bordon (England): 12hr endurance over a 10km distance: http://brutalrun.co.uk/race/brutal10-enduro/.
  • Alliance Trust Cateran Yomp, Highlands of Perthshire (Scotland): 54 miles in 24 hours:
    • Sign-up: http://www.soldierscharity.org/events/the-cateran-yomp/.
    • Route: http://www.caterantrail.org/.
  • Commando Challenge @ Woodbury Common, near Exeter (England): 17km: http://www.commandochallenge.co.uk.
  • Day of the Reckoning, The @ Heart of England Conference & Events Centre, Fillongley (just of of Birmingham, England): http://www.thedayofreckoning.co.uk/.
  • South Downs Way Ultra Run @ Washington, West Sussex (England): 106 miles over two days: http://www.votwo.co.uk/events-1/south-downs-way-challenge-2011.
  • Tough Mudder: London South @ Temple Valley, Hampshire (England): 10-12m: http://toughmudder.co.uk/events/.
  • XRunner: Water Wipeout @ National Watersports Centre, Nottingham (England): 5km & 10km: http://xrunner.co.uk/events/water-wipeout/.

July

August

September

October

November

December

Other OCR Events and Races Include:

  • Total Warrior.
  • Men’s Health Survival of the Fittest.
  • No Ego Challenge: http://www.noegochallenge.com/.
  • Rat Race Adventure Sports.
  • JCB Mud Run.
  • The Nuts Challenge: http://www.thenutschallenge.co.uk.
  • Warrior Dash: http://www.warriordash.co.uk/.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.