1.0 Introduction

This article provides an overview of the two to three training process for Irish Defence Forces (IDF).

2.0 The Role of Three Star Training

In order to become a fully qualified private soldier in the IDF, two star privates must immediately, on completion of basic training, undertake a three star training course.

This training progression is part of the IDF’s development process for its young military personnel.

3.0 Phases of Three Star Training

Three star training is divided into three phases of training:

  • Phase 1: Advanced Military Skills.
  • Phase 2: Military Support Skills.
  • Phase 3: Tactical Assessment.

3.1 Phase 1: Advanced Military Skills

This phase of training is three weeks in duration and includes:

  • Section and Platoon Drill.
  • Arms Drill.
  • Weapon training with day and night firing.
  • Physical Fitness and Endurance Training will be concentrated on throughout the course.

3.2 Phase 2: Military Support Skills

This phase of training concentrates on subjects that will increase a soldier’s military knowledge and skills, including:

  • Radio and computer communications;
  • Map Reading; and
  • Chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear (CBRN) training.

3.3 Phase 3: Tactical Assessment

This phase of training concentrates on tactical and internal security training culminating in a week of field exercises, which is generally the last week of three star training.